The Ghost Hunters Return

We have another guest! Some of you may know her from her books and some of you may know her as the honorary member of C.A.T.S Calamityville Horror, as she has joined us many times, in Hell Fire Caves, Nottingham Galleries of Justice and Peterborough. But you know that anyone who visits Casa Raven is doomed to wander these gloomy corridors forever, so we tracked her down in one of the catacombs and brought her back up for some wine and biscuits. So we give you… L K Jay!

L K JayThe Ghost Hunters Return by L K Jay

It’s been a while since I’ve been here but the sisters of darkness couldn’t keep me away for long!  I recently visited them at their home in Wales for their birthday party and it was great to be invited.  It was a really fun do, I paid homage to the gothic by dressing up as a middle-aged goth – I even put on black lace gloves.  They looked quite fetching with my rouge-noir nail varnish but they itched a bit – the price one has to pay for fashion.  Couldn’t do much about the hair though, blond highlights do not a goth make!  But C L Raven looked fabulous and they put on a really good spread, which I enjoyed munching my way through.  I wished I could have stayed longer but the stupid day job gets in the way …

Anyway, keeping in with the theme of the ‘fun-gothic’ – I think I’ve just invented a new genre – I wanted to tell you about my new novel that has just been released, and what it was like to write a sequel.  I wrote The Ghost Hunters Club over two years ago and life was quite different then.  I was living in Leeds, I had just been spectacularly let down by a man and it was not long after I had to change jobs and move back to the Fens.  There was a lot of my life at that point in that novel, including the ghost hunting and drinking!

However, a year later, I had the itch to continue Linda, Karen and Anna’s stories.  I was about as far removed from my previous situation but I woke up one morning and the plot to the sequel just came to me.  So while I was at work, when I probably should have been doing something else, I scribbled the basic plot down and the seeds had been sown.  It was two years after starting the first novel when I began The Ghost Hunters Return – cunning title eh? – but I wasn’t living in the home town of my main characters and two years had passed since I wrote the last one, when only two months had passed for them.  But this was the thing, it only took a few pages to dive back into their worlds.  It was like greeting old friends again and I had so much fun deciding what I was going to do with their lives.  After a while, I stopped writing the story, it wrote itself and the characters stopped relying on me to make decisions for them but they made them for themselves.

There’s a couple of new characters as well: one is good and one is bad, but which one, you’ll have to read to find out.  There’s more ghost hunting, more strange characters and definitely more ghosts!  And needless to say, Anna, has another of her moments …

Many thanks to Ryan Ashcroft for designing the covers: he came up with the concept, shot the pictures himself and then produced two beautiful matching covers for the Ghost Hunters books.  I love them, I hope you do too.

GHRWe’ve just bought The Ghost Hunters Return and can’t wait to get started on it. Buy your copy here.

GHCWe’ve read The Ghost Hunters Club and loved it. If you haven’t read it yet, download it now, here.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

