Wild At Heart

Today we’re thrilled to be welcoming fellow Indie author, Gena Mantz to Ravens Retreat. We’ve known her on Facebook for a while and she keeps us in a state of cuteness overload with the adorable pics of her kitties on Twitter. So she’ll be very at home amongst our animal army. We’ll go restock the Red Bull and let you get to know her.

Hello all,

 I am honored to be the guest blogger. Thank you for inviting me today. So a little about me. I am a legal assistant, belly dancer, wife, and mom to one human and several different types of animal kids. In fact as I type, my Anatolian Shepherd/Great Pyrenees ‘pup’ is nudging my ankle. (Louisa’s about 9 months old and weighs about 65 pounds, and always WHINING.)
I write paranormal novels and poetry. I’ve had a love affair with all things paranormal, Gothic, romantic, and particularly vampire since I was in my teens. (Which was about half a century ago, give or take a decade.) When I was in my teens, I wrote some fantasy-style stuff , but none of it survived the various moves. I have always been a storyteller. When my sister was a child, my mom often sent her to me for the answers to all those annoying why questions. Somehow, a wonderful story was told and all the questions my sister had were answered.
 I took a break from writing to be a human mom and raise our son while my husband was an over the road truck driver.  A few years ago, a librarian friend of mine got me in touch with a retired college instructor who was leading a poetry group at our local library. I began writing poetry and found I enjoy writing paranormal themes, mostly vampire. I am hoping to publish a short book of my poetry soon.
My first novel is an alternative look at small town life in Kansas, using humans, vampires and werewolves. I tried to address the themes of prejudice, inequality, marriage, and fidelity as well as family and acceptance in this book. It is a light, quick read. Let me put it this way, if my 13 year old niece or nephew read this, I would not be embarrassed. You can find my novel at  http://www.amazon.com/Wild-Hearted-ebook/dp/B008LD5DC8/ref=dp_kinw_strp_1  or for the UK http://www.amazon.co.uk/Wild-Hearted-ebook/dp/B008LD5DC8/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1343829066&sr=1-1 and is available in paperback or in Kindle. I also do Kindlegraphs.
I am working on my second novel, which will be published under a different name. The themes in it are more adult, and the content is not for children. It will be published under a pen name and it is still very much a work in progress. My main character in this novel, Isis, has her own blog, twitter, and email and I never know what she will comment on next. Her blog is isisthevampire.com, her twitter is isisthevampire, and her email isisisthevampire@gmail.com.
Well, I suppose I’ve chattered on enough about myself. Time to get back to working on my newest stuff. Thanks again for listening and have a wonderful day/evening/night!
Hugs and blessings to all
g

6 Comments

  1. Your book sounds so interesting that I just bought a copy 😀 Thanks for sharing a bit of you with us.

  2. Darling Cat and Lynx- thanks so much for letting my writer appear in your blog.

    • no problemo! We’ll add her to the Wall of Fame and we’d love you have you both on when your book gets released.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

