Welcome Julie A Lindsey

We are very excited today because one of our favourite people on Twitter, Julie A Lindsey has agreed to board this sinking ship. If you don’t follow Julie on Twitter, why the hell not? She’s hilarious, delectable (NOT a pervert, despite rumours 🙂 ) and a little crazy. Ok, a lot crazy, but that’s what makes her so much fun. So, welcome Julie, have a seat *moving a cat off and brushing off the hair* have some coffee – there’s a whole barrel for you. Ooh, and have a biscuit.

Hi! *waves wildly from Ohio* I’m all bouncy and happy to be here! This blog post took some serious work! I wrote it once and saved it nice and safely on my old laptop, then kissed it good night and planned to send it to you when you were ready for it.

Then my computer died.

I never backed my stuff up.

Buh-bye.

And so I have no idea what form my brilliance took last go, but it takes more than a complete loss of everything I have ever written to get me down. LOL. I’ll just write you a new, better, more fabulous post! Ha! Let my old dead computer suck on THAT.

I thought I’d tell you a horrifying real true story about one of my millions of rejections.  All writers get rejected and I have been rejected like a champion. But one stings a little more than all the others. Here it is.

I entered a contest and won a partial critique from an agent’s assistant I followed on twitter. (Serious. Get on twitter people. If you aren’t there you are missing out for reals). So, lucky-ducky me, I was polishing my very first (and last) paranormal romance. I had an in person pitch session with a big time editor at one of the big publishing houses coming up and this was the *perfect* opportunity to get some real agent-ish feedback before my pitch.

So I sent it and I waited.

A while later I received my first three chapters, covered in comments and track changes and commentary, none of which was good. In the email she said she liked my voice (I have an engaging personality, what can I say?) BUT perhaps paranormal and romance and especially paranormal romance was an area I should avoid. Ouch.

My story was basically this: A girl fell in love with a demon – fallen angel – you got that right? Okay so when she discovered he was a demon, she fled. He tracks her down because he’s learning to love again (corny and cliché’ I know now) and she keeps running. In the opening scene he’s found her and she’s singing in a church choir (hoping to redeem herself from having been with a demon) and he’s watching her…thinking the things a demon might think when he finds her in the choir loft looking all sweet and innocent.

Agent Assistant called me a pervert and asked me who my target audience was? Catholic priests? (because they get a bad rep for being pervs) but not them cause they like little boys. I don’t know…It’s probably still in my email somewhere and I’m half tempted to look for it and send it your way. Personally, I thought the scene was hawt, but as I already told you…I am apparently a pervert.

I cried rivers of tears after that. There’s no coming back from pervert. The way I saw it, I could either embrace it or run. I ran.  So, I don’t think about it more than I have to anymore and I will never attempt another pararom.

Today I write sweet romances for the Turquoise Morning Press’ new line of books called Honey Creek. Honey Creek books center around a small rural town in Ohio and I have three short sweets coming this year in my Seeds of Love series.  My first title, Bloom, is out now! I have never told anyone about my perverted writing LOL and now the whole world could know because I love you guys so much I had to share!

I hope you’ll visit Honey Creek. It’s a beautiful place where anything can happen. Kick off your shoes, relax into that porch swing and cuddle up to a steamy mug of cider. Taking a trip to Honey Creek is as easy as Amazon : ) See you there!

Bloom by Julie Anne Lindsey

In a town filled with her past, she never expected to find her future…

Seven years ago Cynthia left Honey Creek with a broken heart. Three years ago Mitchell arrived with one.  Now Cynthia’s come home, and these two hardened hearts can’t stop arguing. If they’d only take a break long enough to find some common ground, they might be surprised to find love can grow anywhere.

If they’ll let it, love will find a way to Bloom.

*Bloom is book one in my new Seeds of Love series.  I’ll be planting those seeds all year.

Buy it here! http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00736DKQA/ref=as_li_tf_il?ie=UTF8&tag=musfrotheslup-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00736DKQA

About Julie:

I am a mother of three, wife to a sane person and Ring Master at the Lindsey Circus. Most days you’ll find me online, amped up on caffeine & wielding a book.

You can find my blogging about the writer life at Musings from the Slush Pile

Tweeting my crazy at @JulieALindsey

Reading to soothe my obsession on GoodReads

And other books by me on Amazon

19 Comments

  1. OBVIOUSLY that person has no idea what they are talking about! I am glad that one bad pitch did not stop you from writing. Sounds like a fun book to me. I would read it. I guess that makes me a pervert also!

    • We really want to read it too. But then, we know we’re perverts 😉

  2. Julie Lindsey and the CLraven twins together on the same blog? That’s a match made in Heaven….er, Hell…no wait…Heaven…um…Purgatory? Anyway, it’s awesome!

    • 😀 Thank you. We’ve been looking forwards to this. We’ve really enjoyed reading her blog post.

  3. Hi! Thank you SO much for having me 🙂 This was fun! And now that I’ve confessed, I wish I hadn’t lost that pervy manuscript in the crash. It would definitely make good blog fodder for weeks at my blog. How to be pervy: Julie-style

    • that would be a great post! We’ve loved having you and are looking forwards to having you back in April.

  4. As soon as you started to describe that demon story, it was intriguing and I couldn’t help thinking, “and then what happened???????”

    Yep, you had a bonafide story there.

    Perhaps you need to re-visit the paranormal. It’s a fantastic genre. You could have been Twilight before Twilight (but better, of course.)

    Now, let me give you my critique of Agent Assistant: A.A. as he/she shall henceforth be known, is of a religious background. Your story touched on A.A.s very personal fears/hang-ups/demons (if you will). Who knows what happened to A.A. once upon a time. You said something A.A. just didn’t want to hear.

    The writer brings but half the experience with them; the reader brings the rest. That is why the writer/reader relationship can seem so personal and be so intense. This is why readers sometimes become rabid fans: a little too rabid.

    So that’s my psychoanalysis session for the day: no fee!

    • Oh Lisa. I now love you forever. My mouth fell open at your comment – which is both insightful and profound. It’s so easy to become so involved as a writer that you forget this. Yes. Writers only bring half the equation to the table. Thank you so much. I’ve been feeling kinda creepy for a couple years LOL Thinking…but I liked that story LOL Thank yoU!

    • Lisa, that’s great psychoanalysing. You’ll have to charge loads for the next tip 😀 It did seem that the prejudice was the A.A.’s, because it didn’t sound all that pervy to us.

  5. Oh my lord, the AA called you a pervert? How rude is that! Well at least they didn’t say that your story was badly written…
    Perhaps the agent was getting confused with the pure thinking and clean living type of demon, you know, the ones that live their demon lives of abstinence and purity!

    Great post, really enjoyed reading it 🙂

    • LOL! You’re right. In today’s ‘bad guys with good hearts’ trend, a real demon wanting an innocent must be so scandalous!

  6. Not sure how I’d react to being called a pervert… especially under those circumstances, lol. Still, it’s all character building as they say – although I do wonder what the actual agent would think of his/her assistant’s remarks…?

    Great guest and great post, everyone.

    By the way clraven, I’ve put you on my list of Versatile Blogger Award recipients x

    • thank you so much! We’re honoured 🙂 we’re glad we’ve never been called perverts, though we agree the agent should’ve proofed the letter before hand. Still, at least the assistant will remember her!

  7. What a great blog post Julie, I loved your story and I seriously think you should try again with that paranormal story, sounds like it could be really good for the write publisher!

  8. Oh, Julie. I hear you.
    I’m the opposite. I was told it wasn’t hot enough! So, I really let go on the next few. ‘Nuff said.
    Anyway – you’re one of my favorite people to read on Twitter. You do make me smile, and I wish you much success.
    P.S.
    Loved Bloom – heartwarming story.

  9. So I love Julie *hugs* and was one of the few who actually read her pararom and I liked it. But she already knew I was a perv. What’s the saying, takes one to know one.

    Love this site and thanks Julie for the introduction *curtsies*.

  10. Hi, Julie – Loved the story of your writerly growth. And, hey, glad you came back from the dark side 🙂 Wonderful work with the Honey Creek stories and I’m glad there’s more to come.

    Grace

  11. thanks for stopping by and reading Julie’s post. It was fun having her here. Hopefully she’ll publish that pararom soon so we can all enjoy it.

  12. […] And if you missed her last visit, click on this link here to find out why she was called a pervert by a rather mean editor. https://clraven.wordpress.com/2012/02/23/welcome-julie-a-lindsey/ […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

